Pat O’Brien’s

pat o's

Originally a speakeasy during Prohibition, Pat O’s is housed in a building constructed in 1791. The speakeasy ran until the repeal of Prohibition. (Although in New Orleans no one really stopped drinking.)


Pat O’Brien officially opened the bar on December 3, 1933. He developed a friendship with Charlie Cantrell and after many years of fun and lots of poker games, the two men purchased the building that is now home to Pat O’Brien’s Bar at 718 St Peter street. Originally built as a private home, it later became the first Spanish Theatre in the United States.


It was converted back to a private residence until 1942, when O’Brien and Cantrell purchased the spacious place to become home to one of the most iconic nightclubs in the United States. The old bar had an upright piano to entertain, but the larger room allowed them to go bigger and better with two baby grand pianos … and dueling piano entertainment was born!


It’s famous for the potent and delicious Hurricane cocktail that comes in a fancy tall glass. In the 1940’s many US distilleries were used to manufacture necessities for war time, and domestic liquor was scarce. However, Rum coming up the Mississippi river from the Caribbean islands was plentiful. In order to buy a case of Bourbon, for example, there was strong incentive to purchase large quantities of rum. The folks in the bar experimented with recipes, and eventually everyone agreed that passion fruit was a hit! A glass shaped like a hurricane lamp was the perfect vessel and the Hurricane drink became one of New Orleans’ favorite libation.


No place can compare to the wonderful Pat O’Brien’s. With its dueling grand pianos room, a British-like pub, a spectacular patio with a marvelous fire fountain that feels like you are at a neighbor’s backyard party, and of course the Hurricane.


Find out more here: